News and events from the North Dakota region. The original since 2005.

10 New Winners in ND

nd vegasorbust 160wThis past weekend players from all over the state of North Dakota gathered to take their chance of qualifying for the "Vegas or Bust" National Championship.  Up for grabs were ten spots with the top five winning the bonus of an airfare allowance and hotel accommodations.  In the end there were ten brand new champions!

Bob Rice - Hooterville Bar, Minot
Daryl Braun - Knights of Columbus, Jamestown
Chris Sanders - M&J Saloon, West Fargo
Lori Fugelstad - Pit Stop, Clifford
Dave Gray - Reza's Pitch, Bismarck
Mark Kaffer - Big Lounge, Beulah (right)
Paul Larson - The Bowler, Fargo (left)
Stuart Paulson - At the Hop, Langdon (middle)
Blake Sandmeier - The Bowler, Fargo (2nd from right)
Ted Bjornstad - Gordy's, Cando (2nd from left)

Dan Craft & Rick Adams Secure Their Vegas or Bust Seats

dan-craft 160wRick Adams from Dilworth, MN locked in his spot at the Vegas or Bust National Championship by taking down the JC Corral's Super TOC.  This was the second promotion in a row Rick has won JC's Super TOC going back to back.  Dan Craft (pictured) from Fargo, ND won his spot in the Vegas or Bust National Championship by taking down the Bowler's Super TOC.  Way to go guys!!!

Jeff Sickler Makes a Dozen

Jeff Sickler from Dickinson, ND has made the Vegas or Bust National Championship an even dozen by scratching off four eights.  It took all seven attempts, but he still got it done and now will be qualified to play in the National Championship in Las Vegas on Wednesday, July 4th. 

Lonnie Hillen Scratches Off Four of Kind

lonnie h 160wLonnie Hillen of Fargo, ND recently scratched off four tens to qualify for the Vegas or Bust National Championship on July 4th. Lonnie took all seven attempts to get the quad tens, but in the end it worked as he becomes the 15th qualifier for the Vegas or Bust National Championship.

Curt Hoffart wins 2011 Dakota Poker Tour Championship

choffart-w66 of the 100 players who qualified to play showed up, and was would be expected, most tables, including the final table, were stacked with great poker players.  In the end it was Curt Hoffart besting Brian Breidenbach heads up for the $1500 WSOP package. Curt will represent the Dakota Poker Tour this summer in a WSOP event.  

Final table was a great representation of some of the best players throughout the year:

  1. Curt Hoffart (pictured)
  2. Brian Breidenbach
  3. Gordon Ellerson
  4. Jason Thompson
  5. Ben Rott
  6. Darik Demarais
  7. Rob Thompson
  8. Sam Johnson
  9. Joel Smith
  10. Nathan Kiefert

2nd - 5th received a buy-in to the next day's DPT Event #3, while 6th - 10th received a satellite to win their way into that event.  Also, in an interesting twist, the eventual champion Curt, knocked out the regular season points leader, Ron Olson, on his way to victory.  This coming year should be even more hotly contested for the freeroll, as the total prize pool will be bigger and 1st will start with a 3x stack, while 2nd - 10th will start with 2x stacks!  

We look forward to being able to report on hopefully a very successful run this summer for Curt Hoffart!

Earn Money Organizing Poker Leagues!

Grass-roots players and poker enthusiasts have built this bar league. Make some extra money and have fun promoting poker! Click Here for more information. Or email sales@freepokernetwork.com